Home > Way Off Topic > Serious Blogging

Serious Blogging

STOP
Seriously.

And this, in a roundabout way, is why I take some things I post about on this blog so ‘seriously’ or why I don’t just go along to get along on seemingly trivial matters:

I cannot say my role in resisting this tiny tyranny has been or is an heroic one. On the contrary: I now simply avoid the use of certain ways of putting things so that the question does not arise. I do not want to have a blazing argument with editors or sub-editors each time I use the word “Mankind” and it is changed without my permission, nor do I not want to stop writing altogether; and the matter, after all, is a very small one. How petty one would look to argue about it, how foolish to cut one’s nose off to spite one’s face if one refused to write any more because of it!

And so the censors have achieved a small victory. They will seek out new locutions to conquer.

It boils down to the simple fact that if you give a little ground in the small, seemingly inconsequential, areas of life, you grant a foothold to those that would gladly use your neck (or language or belief system) as a stepping stone to conquer something much more vital, whereas if you put your foot down and shout “STOP!” the bullies/censors/cognoscenti might not only think twice before trying it again but they might be put off from tackling larger game in the process.1


1 I can dream, can’t I?

Categories: Way Off Topic
  1. kog3100_edw
    04/07/2010 at 15:51 | #1

    There is a difference however between taking a stand and having a tizz.
    ;)

    • ECM
      04/07/2010 at 15:56 | #2

      One man’s “tizz” is another man’s vendetta!

      /gnashes teeth

  2. kog3100_edw
    04/07/2010 at 16:21 | #3

    I’m sure your approach makes for good television.

    • ECM
      04/07/2010 at 16:34 | #4

      Maybe, but I wouldn’t know: haven’t watched TV in any meaningful capacity in nearly a decade, though I imagine I haven’t missed a whole lot.

  3. kog3100_edw
    04/07/2010 at 18:59 | #5

    You don’t want to know what the Kardashian sisters are up too? WTF? Get with it! All the now kids are hip to the Kardashians, man!

    • ECM
      04/07/2010 at 19:22 | #6

      I’ve heard of ‘em! But that’s about as far as I need to go :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

