Home > Video Games > 25-Year-Old Game Brings XBOX 360 to Its Knees

25-Year-Old Game Brings XBOX 360 to Its Knees

ZOD!
Kneel Before Zod Shaolin Road!

Well, not just any 25-year-old game, but Shaolin Road, the super-awesome Konami pseudo-beat ’em up, so maybe it’s understandable1.

First, the Game Room version of Shaolin Road:

And Shaolin running on MAME:

Notice anything wrong? Like, say, that the music is much, much slower on the 360 than MAME? Other faults apparently include display issues revolving around frame rate and the like, which can mean only one thing: the hardware driving Shaolin Road is actually more powerful than the 360!2

Anybody else notice any other issues with Game Room titles? Do other games suffer from these sorts of ailments? Will I ever find something nice to say about Microsoft? Find out all this and more if I can be bothered to drag my 360 out of its cobweb-encrusted sepulcher and hook it up to Live! (Or you can post in the comments and/or email to spare me such a dire fate.)

H/T: ManekiNeko of GRB (for noticing) and the Arch-Nerd (for confirmation).



1 It’s not.
2 It’s not.

  1. 03/28/2010 at 21:56

    When I was a kid, I had the Shaolin Road coin-op in my basement for awhile.

    • ECM
      03/29/2010 at 13:12

      That would have made you the coolest kid on my block by some margin.

  2. 03/29/2010 at 03:49

    Lucky!

    Am I to suspect that you have latent mad skills with the game then?

    • 03/29/2010 at 18:17

      Probably, I played it a TON. My father always kept a machine or two down there, and one pinball table, leased from a buddy that had an arcade. I recall, other than Shaolin Road, playing Gyruss and Elevator Action.

      • ECM
        03/29/2010 at 18:26

        My childhood is very jealous of your childhood.

  3. Knight of Gold 3100
    03/29/2010 at 13:22

    I started one of these Game Rooms up too. I’ve played several of the games now, mostly ones I put a lot of time in when I was younger. I don’t really do the MAME thing, so I only have my memory of how the games played, and they SEEM pretty accurate. Games that I have a memory comparison, are up on XBLA, and I’ve put time in on: Red Baron, Tutankhamen, Gravitar. My kid’s done time on Centipede too. All these seemed correct. Gravitar however was difficult to see, even given my giant screen… all the vector games have a resolution issue, but Gravitar’s is acute. Gravitar was also just about impossible to control. I like the idea behind this Game Room thing, but I hope they get any issues worked out. It may be too much to expect perfection when they plan to have so many games come out.

    • ECM
      03/29/2010 at 13:26

      If I’m paying for emulated software, I expect perfection–if they can’t deliver it, don’t publish it until you can. (And we’re not talking about small issues if, as in the case of Shaolin Road, it affects how the game plays.)

      I mean, look at the Wii VCA (in Japan, mostly) all of those games, despite being produced by a million separate devs, have all turned out pixel-perfect–surely on a machine like the 360, this should be child’s play in comparison?

      (And it’s A-OK with me if you’re OK w/ it…but I’m not and demand it be as accurate as possible, though it does frighten me that if they can’t get something like Shaolin Road correct, what does that bode for anything newer than the mid-to-late 80s?)

  4. 03/29/2010 at 23:14

    hey that is my video!!

    *rolleyes*
    i glad somebody else noticed the slow emulation…

    take another konami arcade game…
    road fighter
    remember how fun was that game?
    06:10

    now in slow motion is so no-fun….watch how i take that tank…

    • ECM
      03/30/2010 at 21:41

      Heh, thanks for the vid XD

      I have to say, though, that even though I’ve played pretty much everything that ever hit an arcade in the 80s, I don’t think I ever played Road Fighter 😦

  1. 03/28/2010 at 15:04
  2. 04/02/2010 at 02:40
  3. 04/17/2010 at 10:21

Leave a Reply

