Home > Way Off Topic > What Could Possibly Go Wrong? (Again)

What Could Possibly Go Wrong? (Again)

Legendary Pictures have officially announced they will develop and produce a new film based on Toho Company’s famed “Godzilla” character after acquiring the rights to the franchise from the Japanese company that has nurtured her for over fifty years.

Nurtured then sold her to Hollywood for birthday parties, bar mitzvahs and…rape1:

H/T: Dark Horizons



1 I’m not even much of a Godzilla fan, but I did pay money to see this monstrosity (BY THE CREATORS OF ID4 SO YOU KNOW IT’S…HORRIBLE) and, man, are the Japanese gluttons for punishment.

Categories: Way Off Topic
  1. Knight of Gold 3100
    03/29/2010 at 19:27

    This is timely. I am in the middle of editing a big ol’ weepy entry about my love of Godzilla and all kaiju-related. There are a number of USA-based firms that were courting this license with a number of them having gone on record as having more-or-less correctly identified what was wrong with the Devlin/Emmerich version (looks wrong, not indestructible, weak use of metaphor, no nuclear beam, eggs and kids, etc). Whether they DO anything correctly remains to be seen. Toho isn’t above reproach in what happened with the D/E Godzilla, they signed off on it… but even their own Godzilla films post- the US one made fun of it. At any rate, that there will be another US Godzilla film doesn’t HAVE to mean it is awful, I just won’t be holding my breath.

  2. ECM
    03/29/2010 at 19:30

    Oh, i agree: that’s why I said they whored her out…for cash. (And I had some die-hard Godizlla fans in the theater when I went and saw this and, man, you’d think they’d been raped.

    • Knight of Gold 3100
      03/29/2010 at 20:13

      When the trailer for D/E’s Godzilla (GINO among non-fans) first came on in theaters, and looked pretty cool… no pics of the monster in the early ones… a huge cohort of my friends and coworkers at Games Workshop were with me at some movie. Before the trailer was even finished playing they were all literally standing up in the theater pointing to me and going ‘yeah, yeah, f**k yeah, you the man’ leaving the whole rest of the theater wondering what was going on. They were cheering like I was personally responsible for the US film getting done… that’s how huge (and public apparently) my fandom for Godzilla is.

      A year later all my glory was undone.

      • ECM
        03/29/2010 at 20:41

        Hahaha, good story XD

  3. 03/29/2010 at 23:30

    Roy “remake every asian movie ever made” Lee is producing this.

    My predictions:

    Directed by that guy that direct the G.I Joe movie

    Starring: Brendan Fraser, Kate Hudson and Tracy Morgan

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

