Home > Video Games > “Some galactic defender you are, Space Cadet!”

“Some galactic defender you are, Space Cadet!”

GORF
Game Over Retro Fans1

The end of an era:

…this is officially the final, final release candidate for GORF. Fish gotta fly, birds gotta swim, and I’ve got to move on to new projects.

There’s only one major change to this release…faster quark shots for the player. I was worried about how this change would affect the gameplay, but judging from my playtesting it seems to be an improvement. The game feels a bit peppier than past releases, although if you’ve gotten used to the timing in the earlier versions, you’ll have to retrain yourself.

So that’s it. The last dance, the final countdown, the whipped cream and cherry on the sundae. I may include box artwork and an instruction booklet at a later date, but unless there’s a cataclysmic bug somewhere in the code that I missed, there will be no more work done on GORF.

Personally, I think fish gotta fry (mmm, fish ‘n’ chips) and birds gotta, well, they gotta fry, too, the Colonel demands it! (I’m pretty sure CHI is gonna back me up on both of these, so if you have a problem, you’re going to have to take it up w/ the Hulk’s golden brother.)

Other than that, check out one of the GBA’s swan songs, and then say thanks here.


1 I’m writing this post in the wee hours of the AM after a very long day so, yeah, I’m all outta clever.

  1. kog3100_edw
    04/14/2010 at 20:27

    I have fond memories of playing this during its actual heyday. The speech sythesis was the bomb in those newly-started arcades. Unfortunately I don’t have the wherewithal to try to get this remake.

    • ECM
      04/14/2010 at 20:29

      I remember playing this a lot in the same place I (eventually) found the original Strider arcade machine: a little diner in upstate New York named George’s.

      GORF was actually, for some reason, situated in the back of the place, surrounded by tables where people were eating but, yeah, I can recall the speech just being hair-standingly awesome for a wee lad of 7-8 years old.

  1. 04/14/2010 at 08:35

Leave a Reply

