Home > Video Games > The Mad Gear Gang Wins (Aided and Abetted by…Capcom??)

The Mad Gear Gang Wins (Aided and Abetted by…Capcom??)

ff
Metro City keepin’ it real Latin

Even the combined power of Metro City’s finest couldn’t prevent this travesty:

Are you a console gamer that dropped PC gaming because you were annoyed that you needed to be online to play certain single-player games (I’m looking at you, Ubisoft). You’re not safe from that annoyance, as Capcom’s recently released Final Fight: Double Impact for PSN has this feature, even if you only want to play offline.

When you launch the game, you’ll need to be online with your PS3. Not only that, you’ll need to be logged in with the account that purchased the game. Otherwise, you’ll get a “Sign into PlayStation Network. (80029516)” error. While later after this check-up you can log off the PSN, the annoyance is already done.

Yes, this has been done before in other games–games that are online only, so it actually makes limited sense since you can’t actually play them without being connected. With Final Fight, it’s more like the recent idiocy embarked upon by UbiSoft on PC except…on a console.

So, once again, here are some of the problems you can (eventually) expect:

*Net goes down, you can’t play.
*Wireless connection goes down, you can’t play.
*Capcom shuts down authentication server in the future, you can’t play…ever again.

You know how to remedy this? Don’t buy Final Fight Double Impact and then send Capcom a “suggestion” stating that if they continue foolishness like this, you’ll head over to their HQ, giant pipe in hand, and take your money out of their hide.1

Until then, remember: you don’t own your games, Capcom does, and you damn well better like it, serf.


1 Metaphorical pipe and hide, for the overly-excitable.

  1. kog3100_edw
    04/22/2010 at 19:13

    Every friggin’ indie game I’ve downloaded on Xbox Live does the same thing.

    • ECM
      04/22/2010 at 19:44

      Wow, that’s weird–what’s the rationale behind that??

  2. 04/22/2010 at 19:48

    (Psst… it’s the MAD Gear Gang!)

    I don’t know why they force you to log in to play Xbox Live Indie Games. Most of them aren’t even worth the effort.

    • ECM
      04/22/2010 at 19:49

      Damn them! They have their mitts into everything! Quick, get your sporty orange togs, I’ll get my one-strap overalls and KoG can be…Poison. (And typos that I’ll also blame on the MGG.)

  3. 04/22/2010 at 23:00

    I let the hamster wheel that is my brain spin for a while, and I just realized why they may have done this. There’s a trick with PSN games that allow you to share games with up to three other systems, by either signing in on those systems or letting your friends know your log-in information. Once you log out, the games remain on those systems and are accessible to other users. Maybe this online authentication process is intended to discourage that?

    • ECM
      04/23/2010 at 07:39

      Yeah, that was, allegedly, the idea (see linked story), but it doesn’t make sense that you need to authenticate the game every time you boot it up for that reason.* (And, even if it does, the fact that you can’t play it and/or will never be able to play it again should you be deprived of that ‘handshake’ should have made this a complete non-starter.)

      *And if it has to be like that to prevent game-sharing, then DON’T DO IT, Capcom because this is going to cost you sales, now that it’s out there.

  4. 04/22/2010 at 23:37

    RAGE! Frigging capcom, what’s the point of this bullshit?

  5. kog3100_edw
    04/23/2010 at 12:30

    I’m Poison? Wow. You need to just keep your head down when it comes to music things I think. Sit at the back of the bus and don’t say anything.

    • ECM
      04/23/2010 at 12:46

      I meant more in the transsexual sense–does that make it better? XD

  6. kog3100_edw
    04/23/2010 at 16:07

    It isn’t THAT obscure of a jump to see you taking the music-based entry recently and finding something long-haired AND offensive (the band Poison indicated by capitalisation) to glue onto me. I get it.

    I’m just saying the guy posting all the 80s vids, some with no trace of irony, probably oughtta not draw too much attention to himself about taste in music.

    Just sayin’.

    • ECM
      04/23/2010 at 16:19

      But, uh, I wasn’t talking about the band…at all…not even a little (not even hinted at it), cause, um, in the context of the post, I was Haggar (overalls) and Maneki was Guy (orange togs) and you were Poison (the dude in high heels and a tube top) and it was, um, a joke…which you seem to be taking way too seriously/personally but I’ll be sure not to ‘insult’ your tastes in anthropomorphized bands (??) in the future, even when I”m not talking at all about music. (But probably not.)

      And, yeah, knowing that, it was an Olympic long-jump type-leap to get from a post talking about Final Fight and DRM to…hair bands.

      For reference, this Poison:

      poison

      Not this Poison:

      poison

      Cause, um, we’re talking about Final Fight…not hair bands…and…uh…yeah.

      (Also, it was a joke, in case you missed it the first time…which you did.)

  7. 04/23/2010 at 16:34

    Buahahahahah – Funny quote from the wiki

    “Yoshinori Ono, when asked in an interview about the matter , stated “Let’s set the record straight: In North America, Poison is officially a post-op transsexual. But in Japan, she simply tucks her business away to look female.”

  8. kog3100_edw
    04/23/2010 at 17:06

    My mistake, sure enough.

    No Final Fight fan, me. I don’t think it is all that difficult to see how I made the connection if I didn’t know about Poison in Final Fight.

    Actually, I’m not ACTUALLY offended. You don’t really get the taste in music that I have without having a lot of slings and arrows headed your way. Because a lot of the personalities, imagery, etc is definitely open to ridicule.

    This was more of a ‘wha?’ moment for me then a ‘that dirty so-and-so’ moment. But it took NO TIME for me to make the connection I did. You guys might think that connection is weird, but you have quite the same focus or interests I do. I think you assumed I’d know all the Final Fight stuff and assumed THAT would be an immediate logical jump for me. Hopefully this explains it. Take the Final Fight knowledge out, add in my interest in certain music… NOW see if my take on the Poison thing makes sense.

    I ALMOST put a line in that previous comment about ‘its all good’ or something, but I THOUGHT my tone of not really being upset would come across better. I was taking your jokes in the spirit intended, despite appearances in my tone… and despite not catching onto the Final Fight reference.

  9. kog3100_edw
    04/23/2010 at 17:08

    Note that I also thought ECM’s transsexual crack was STILL a reference to Poison, the band. They are all dudes, BUT in their heyday that assurance was a bit hazy to pin down based on their appearance. Better women than Dr Frankenfurter anyway.

  10. 04/23/2010 at 17:12

    And yet they got more ass than all of us combined ever will.

  1. 04/23/2010 at 03:22
  2. 04/23/2010 at 11:17
  3. 04/23/2010 at 17:39
  4. 05/24/2010 at 03:50

Leave a Reply

