Home > Video Games > If This Works, I’m Starting An Official ‘Bring Back Alisia Dragoon’ Campaign

If This Works, I’m Starting An Official ‘Bring Back Alisia Dragoon’ Campaign

talbaineatshood
Only YOU Can Guarantee More Darkstalkers!

Ono he dinnit:

During Capcom’s recent Super Street Fighter IV preview event in Central London, we sought out the game’s producer, Yoshinori Ono, to grill him on the feverishly demanded and repeatedly-rumoured Darkstalkers sequel that he seems oh-so-happy to talk about given an inch of column space.

When asked about his regular name-checking of Capcom’s horror fighting series, he responded: “Yes I always try and talk about Vampire (Darkstalkers) during interviews because I want to show Capcom that there is a demand for a new game,” he revealed, before stating decisively in English: “I am desperate to make this game!”

I have to say, if there’s one fighting game franchise I’d like to see come back1, it’s Darkstalkers above all others. And while I do support Ono in this endeavor, I really, really doubt there are sufficient fans (especially in the West) to get him the requisite outcry he needs to convince the penny-pushers at Capcom HQ to get ‘er done but, hey, add my voice to the list!2

That said, if this does work, I’m starting up the Alisia Dragoon for President PS3/360/Wii/PC/WonderSwan/TI88 campaign–who’s with me! Surely someone reading this blog was A. alive/sentient enough to appreciate this game when it came out or B. went back and played it after hearing all the, err, praise3 on the Internet for it? Right?? Anyone? Sigh…someday, my love:


1 Honestly, I’m so burned out on fighting games (and have been for years now) that this would be about the only thing that could pique my interest in the genre anymore, especially after the FF were torched from MVC3.
2 No, I have no idea where this magical list is, actually, so, uh…Alisia Dragoon!
3 Honestly, it’s one of the Genesis’ unsung heroines that happened to get lost in the shuffle in the early 90s, which is a real shame. (It pretty much had it all: great music, great graphics and great gameplay.)

  1. 04/24/2010 at 13:49

    Darkstalkers is my favorite fighting franchise, and Darkstalkers 3/Vampire Savior my all time favorite fighting game. I would love a new game, but hopefully done in real 2d, none of this 2.5 stuff in the vein of Street Fighter IV engine.

    Also, good call on Alisia Dragoon, underrated game.

  2. 04/24/2010 at 17:24

    Alisia Dragoon was my choice for best game of 1992 back when I was doing a fanzine. Seriously.

    Also, yes, I’d love to see another Darkstalkers game. There were rumors of a sequel called “Vampire Soldier” but it never came to pass. I would accept a Darkstalkers game in polygons, but like The Wanderer, I would greatly prefer hand-drawn artwork… it just won’t seem right without it!

    • ECM
      04/24/2010 at 17:29

      Wow, two people that liked AD (and one that liked it as much as I do)–now that all three of us are here, we need to mobilize!

      • 04/24/2010 at 18:50

        Well, Thexder for the PSP is a step in the right direction. The original Thexder primed me for Alisia Dragoon, as they’re very similar games. I mean, aside from the whole Transformers vibe the first game had.

  3. ECM
    04/24/2010 at 18:52

    It’s a step in the right direction if it leads to a new Alisia, but Thexder is about the last Game Arts game I wanted to ever see get a remake. (Outside of Lunar which just needs to be sent to the dark side of the Moon…forever.)

    I imagine that the whole Gainax ‘issue’ probably does not help Alisia’s odds, either 😥

  4. 04/25/2010 at 18:19

    You mean dark side of the blue star 😛

    I could go for another AD game, or even a good ol’ uprez remake.

    Darkstalkers though, now there is a game I’d love to jam on. Who knows, with MvC3 coming, it may be a possibility.

  1. 06/25/2010 at 16:17

Leave a Reply

