Home > Video Games > Bonk: Now With 1/10th the Charm

Bonk: Now With 1/10th the Charm

I want to LOVE this game, but Hudson is making it harder than Bonk’s head:

bonk1bonk2
b3
b4
b5
b6
b7
b8
b9

Look: I want to like all these retro-styled updates to classic games like the upcoming Rocket Knight and, of course, Bonk, but this bizarre insistence on using creepy-looking, ‘realistic’ graphics for games that would benefit massively from classic, 2D, pixel, artwork, is starting to grate on my nerves. (Yes, I know: I’m a charter member of the graphics>gameplay club *flashes Wii and DS receipts from launch day*, but, man, is this really too much to ask??)

And yes, I promise: I’ll take them on their own terms when they arrive, but couldn’t they have at least half the charm, graphically, as NSMB Wii?? (I’d argue that Sparkster and Bonk, graphically, had way, way more charm than 8 or 16-bit Mario, to boot.)

For reference (Bonk’s Revenge on PCE/TG16):

Categories: Video Games Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
  1. kog3100_edw
    04/29/2010 at 20:41

    Fingers crossed for Sonic 4. Sega may FINALLY have heard the cries of people just like you.

    And me.

    • ECM
      04/29/2010 at 21:13

      This will sound like bitching (cause it kinda is), but did they HAVE TO make it episodic! *gnashes teeth*

  2. 04/30/2010 at 02:19

    Yes. More money to yank from stupid people – COUGH – true fans.

  3. 04/30/2010 at 05:00

    Yeah, that’s some ugly shit right there. The GameCube version of Bonk was supposed to be (slightly) better, but I haven’t tried it yet. I’d like to give the GameCube-exclusive version of Mr. Driller another shot too, but I can’t find the stinking disc!

    (The best part of Mr. Driller Drill Land is that there’s an action-RPG included where a Mr. Driller in medieval armor has to kill Serendipity, a pink dragon who looks like she came from the world of My Little Pony.)

    • ECM
      04/30/2010 at 12:38

      Yeah, I have Mr.Driller Drill Land somewhere 🙂

      As for Bonk on Cube, I also have that and, while not exactly what I really wanted (remake good, graphics…OK), it is better, graphically, than this abomination–they at least managed to find a color range that could at least be characterized as ‘vivid’ in spots and there’s actually plentty of the trademark Bonk personality scattered throughout. (I actually can’t believe there’s NO video of it on YouTube…maybe I’ll check NicoNico later and see if they have one.)

      Edit: and no vids of it on Nico either 😦

  4. kog3100_edw
    04/30/2010 at 14:17

    Maybe its just cuz I’m old. I’m rather past the logistics of a release really entering into my expectations. I’m excited about the new Sonic. If it incurs some extra wait and extra cost to get to play this, so be it. I’ll be just as unhappy as the next guy if it costs WAY too much, but at this point we don’t know that. Besides milking additional money, this may have been a Sega bean-counters way of ensuring a Sonic that has been clamored about by the hardcore (and not the oodles of kids who are NOW Sonic’s main audience) can really be profitable. It is time for all of us crying for the old Sonic to put our money where our mouth is. If this first episode tanks sales-wise, then Sega has reduced the amount of time and money spent on ‘the whole rest of the game’ if they cancel the subsequent episodes… or decide to reuse/redo later parts to meet a reduced budget. Stuff like the Final Fight online brouhaha for PS3 is a real downer. I don’t put this yet in that category. Let’s see how much content we get in an episode and how much it is.

  1. 05/03/2010 at 14:51

Leave a Reply

