Home > Video Games > Deja Vu 64: Mario 64 Meets SMG2?

Deja Vu 64: Mario 64 Meets SMG2?

I don’t suppose anyone recognizes this level from Super Mario Galaxy 2? Perhaps from a previous life?:

Right now I’m fantasizing that Nintendo recreated all of Mario 64 in SMG2 and, well, just be glad you’re not sitting here because the results are definitely not an ESRB-approved E for Everyone.1

UPDATE: Compare and contrast:


1 More like N for Nobody or B for Blindness or S for Small.

  1. Poochy
    05/18/2010 at 08:28

    “Right now I’m fantasizing that Nintendo recreated all of Mario 64 in SMG2”

    Why, ECM? Why do you let nostalgia blind you so? Surely you don’t actually want to replay Super Mario 64 in Super Mario Galaxy 2? What would be the point? Super Mario 64 was already remade for the DS and exists in it’s perfect, original form on the Wii. *points to Virtual Console*

    • ECM
      05/18/2010 at 14:12

      More like Mario 64 with a host of SMG tweaks, actually, so, no, it isn’t just a straight remake of Mario 64 and the fact that you’d be getting anther entire game, even if it were a straight port, free, pleases me a great deal because, if nothing else, that is remarkable value for money. (Which is why it’s only going to be a level or two here or there: N isn’t going to give us the content of another entire game, even if it wasn’t already on VC.)

      That being said, who cares if anyone is “blinded” by nostalgia on, well, anything: if it’s enjoyable to that person, why do you care? What difference does it make? Why does it even warrant comment? Does it offend some 3D Mario sensibility you have? (And coming from the same guy that views SMG as the Nintendo anti-christ, I have to say this comment–in any form–has me a might puzzled.)

  2. Poochy
    05/19/2010 at 12:46

    Why does it warrant comment? I’m so glad you asked! Because my childhood was spent playing games made by a company bursting from the seams with originality. As a young Nintendo fan, my kicks came from playing ridiculously imaginative games such as The Legend of Zelda, Super Mario Bros. 3, Metroid, and Kirby’s Adventure. And I’ve watched that company slowly turn these beloved franchises into nostalgia cash-ins.

    Guess what? Samus is going to fight Ridley in Metroid: Other M. Oh, it will be epic–as always. Nintendo doesn’t really have to have a good reason to put it him in the game other than “it’s what the fans want to see”. That’s the nostalgia factor at work. Nintendo knows that people will be ten times more likely to buy a new game in one of their classic franchises if that game appeals to their sense of nostalgia…you know, reminds them of the “good old days”. The nostalgia factor is why we didn’t really get a sequel to Punch-Out!, we got a glorified remake. Entirely new franchises such as Smash Brothers or spin-offs such as the Mario RPGs revolve around references to games and characters from our childhoods. There are several levels in the original Mario Galaxy where the action takes place on giant ? blocks, with a background made of 8-bit Super Mario Brothers tiles.

    Can you imagine a Mario & Luigi or Paper Mario game that isn’t filled with references to old enemies and levels, or with now “classic” tunes from Super Mario Bros. 3/Super Mario World? A Zelda game where Princess Zelda HAS A DIFFERENT THEME SONG? I can’t help but mention Twilight Princess here; that game was one huge throwback to Ocarina of Time, simply because Nintendo realized there was big money in OoT nostalgia after Wind Waker had such a bad reception from critics.

    So why does this all bother me? Because I want Nintendo to become unstuck from all the old ideas. I want Nintendo to be free from all the expectations they think people have of them. I don’t want a Zelda or a Mario game that reminds me of my childhood! Because if I have to be reminded of my childhood in order to experience the same feelings I had then while playing a game made in recent times, if I gotta here the old Mario jingle and see an 8-bit Mario sprite to feel like it’s anywhere near as good as the classics, then Nintendo’s not only wasting their time, I am too. The 80’s and the 90’s are not coming back. Ever. But why are you excited when you see a Super Mario 64 level recreated? That sort of thing used to get me excited, too. But one day I realized something: as many times as Nintendo allows me to relive something, it’s never going to be as good as the first time.

    You know that Nintendo Magic that drives you be loyal to the company through thick and thin? To keep buying Zelda games even after Hyrule has been invaded by locomotives? That’s not nostalgia. Nostalgia is nothing more than pleasant memories of years gone by. Nostalgia is the “Do The Mario” song stuck in your head. Nintendo Magic is that feeling of wonder, excitement, and exhilaration you felt in the days when you first played all those classic games. And all Nintendo REALLY needs to do to capture that same lightning in a bottle that made you and I fans for life in the first place is not focus on their past and all the great games they’ve already made, but focus on the here and NOW. For Nintendo to make a Mario, Metroid, or Zelda game like they’ve never made one before, like they have no obligations to include _X_powerup or _X_music, or throw in a few stages that look like they are 8-bit or 64-bit or some nonsense. Nintendo can’t make me feel like a kid again by recreating a Super Mario 64 level! They can only give me that feeling back when they make a game as good as imaginative as Super Mario 64. A game that is not totally derivative of past games and doesn’t take advantage of my feelings of nostalgia for those old games.

    I’m glad a SMG version of SM64 is enjoyable for you. It will be enjoyable for me too. But the difference between your experience and mine is that even though we’ll both be enjoying it, the inner me that was made a Mario fan because of games made by the bold, brilliant, and daring Nintendo developers of yore, games that didn’t rely on nostalgia and cross-game references to give fans their kicks, will die a just little more. I refuse to grow into an old man who continues to buy new Mario and Zelda games just to be reminded what Mario and Zelda were a long, long time ago..

    • ECM
      05/19/2010 at 12:50

      It will be enjoyable for me too.

      Good, glad we could clear that up.

      • Poochy
        05/19/2010 at 13:04

        Was there ever something to clear up? I didn’t say I wouldn’t enjoy Super Mario Galaxy 2. But I’m certain I won’t enjoy it was much as the original Mario games, and Nintendo’s continued reliance on nostalgia is nothing more than a cheap gimmick in my eyes, a gimmick that says a lot about their own fear of never living up to the games that they feel they must pay homage to.

  3. 05/19/2010 at 12:57

    “You know that Nintendo Magic that drives you be loyal to the company through thick and thin?”

    No, I just like good video games, and Nintendo has a habit of making them.

  4. Poochy
    05/19/2010 at 13:00

    Whoa, I am SO glad I put so much effort into that response. Thank you both, for missing the point/not even acknowledging that I made one. You’re right, modern Zelda and Mario games are every bit as good as the classics? How could I be so blind?

    *goes back to playing The Legend of Zelda: Choo-Choo Train Edition*

  5. 05/19/2010 at 13:02

    Well they are just as good, if not better in some cases, so what’s your point? I thought you said nostalgia factor shouldn’t count.

    • Poochy
      05/19/2010 at 13:08

      I’ll believe you that they’re as good as they used to be when Mario and Zelda make the same impact on the world as Wii Sports did just a few years ago, or Pokémon did in the 90’s. When I watch the 9:00 news and see a story on the Mario craze that’s sweeping the world, then I’ll believe you.

      Better yet, when kids start to recognize Mario’s face more than Mickey Mouse’s again, THEN I’ll believe you.

      • 05/19/2010 at 13:33

        “I felt it when playing those games too! 🙂 Those are incredibly imaginative, unique games, which is why I didn’t mention them at all when mentioning how stale and retreaded I feel the newer Mario games are.”

        You answered your own question, I laugh.

  6. 05/19/2010 at 13:13

    Impact has nothing to do with how good a game is. Did you see how much impact Little Big Planet had on the game-o-sphere last week?

    • Poochy
      05/19/2010 at 13:15

      “Impact has nothing to do with how good a game is. Did you see how much impact Little Big Planet had on the game-o-sphere last week?”

      The first sentence, I laugh. You mention Little Big Planet in relation to the first sentence, I give up on this conversation.

  7. 05/19/2010 at 13:13

    I know what you are talking about with that Nintendo magic thing. I felt it when I played the Wii Sports, Brain Age, Wario Ware, etc. In other words, stuff they’ve recently done.

    The other things are further refinements of genres they created, which is not bad, and is in fact awesome. Nintendo, please continue to do exactly what you are doing, thanks. 🙂

    • Poochy
      05/19/2010 at 13:18

      I felt it when playing those games too! 🙂 Those are incredibly imaginative, unique games, which is why I didn’t mention them at all when mentioning how stale and retreaded I feel the newer Mario games are. That’s not to say that they aren’t fun games, just that…well, I’m not going to keep repeating myself with regards to nostalgia factor. I’ve explained myself perfectly well, and in a way that I had hoped ECM could relate to, being from the same generation of gamers as I am.

  8. 05/19/2010 at 13:14

    And, for the record, they should call it “the Wii Sports.” Commenting on blogs at work = grammar fails!

    • Poochy
      05/19/2010 at 13:23

      Best typo ever! It sounds like a disease:

      “Martha, I jest got of th’ phone wif the doctor. He says I got the Wiisports.”

      “And it’s terminal.”

  9. 05/19/2010 at 13:19

    The Wii Sports, I laugh.

    • Poochy
      05/19/2010 at 13:37

      You though I was the one who wrote The Wii Sports when it was actually someone else, I laugh.

      • 05/19/2010 at 13:40

        Read the post-times of the reply smarty pants. I posted a response to Fei before you replied to him.

  10. Poochy
    05/19/2010 at 13:38

    Justinzero :
    “I felt it when playing those games too! Those are incredibly imaginative, unique games, which is why I didn’t mention them at all when mentioning how stale and retreaded I feel the newer Mario games are.”
    You answered your own question, I laugh.

    Your response makes no sense, I laugh.

    • 05/19/2010 at 13:46

      Because you’re calling out for Nintendo do make an impact on today’s gaming culture like it did back in the 80’s, yet they have, and you yourself agree (as noted in the quotes.. duh). What is it you’re trying to argue exactly?

      • Poochy
        05/19/2010 at 13:57

        “Because you’re calling out for Nintendo do make an impact on today’s gaming culture like it did back in the 80′s, yet they have, and you yourself agree”

        I agree to what? Wii Sports made a huge impact. Those other games like Warioware are just really fun games, in my opinion. I never once said that Nintendo doesn’t make fun games any more or even that Super Mario Galaxy 1 and 2 aren’t fun games.

        “What is it you’re trying to argue exactly?”

        Stop trying to pick apart certain quotes or make fun the way I write and actually try to comprehend what I wrote originally. I’m too tired and frustrated to explain to you how I could possibly think that Mario, Zelda, and even Metroid (the original subject matter–not Wii Sports et al) aren’t as good as their original incarnations. What I have explained in good detail is why I’m frustrated by Nintendo’s gimmicky tendency to cram nostalgic shit into Mario games so I as an oldschool fan can get goosebumps and feel like a kid again when I really want them to do is make a game as insanely original as SMB3, Yoshi’s Island, or whatever (take your pick among the classics).

        Using Metroid once again as an example, I think it would be pretty sweet if Nintendo could come up with a boss as badass and memorable as Ridley, but until they do we’re going to get Ridley in every single Metroid game. We will get old great stuff in lieu of really new great stuff.

  11. Poochy
    05/19/2010 at 13:44

    Justinzero :
    Read the post-times of the reply smarty pants. I posted a response to Fei before you replied to him.

    Yes, but I mentioned Wii Sports first. You mimicked something I said earlier “I laugh” because you thought he was responding to a typo I made which, I in fact, did not make.

    • 05/19/2010 at 13:47

      Yeah, I was making fun of you, while replying to Fei 😛

  12. Poochy
    05/19/2010 at 13:48

    I’m disturbed by how hostile some of the comments are on the heels of what I thought was a well thought out discourse on my feelings regarding nostalgia as a gimmick used in video games. I thought that perhaps no one had even bothered reading it, but alas, as ECM himself has pointed out (and he was THE ONLY ONE the comment was addressed to), I make no sense whatsoever.

    Good night to you all.

  1. 05/18/2010 at 16:03

Leave a Reply

