Home > Video Games > 1969: Duck Hunt Hits Arcades (No, Really)

1969: Duck Hunt Hits Arcades (No, Really)

SEGA!
The wild arcade cabinet, Gamus Arcadeus, in its natural habitat

By SEGA:

Not just moving targets, but flying ducks from one side of the back scene to the other, these animated ducks fly from the left to the right on a special screen, disappearing from view when hit.

I can actually remember–just barely!–playing some of these electro-mechanical contraptions at Rye Playland when I was very, very young (pre-5 years old), though I can’t say I recall any more specifics other than my Dad holding me up to play them since I was, naturally, too young to actually reach the controls myself1. I also certainly can’t say this was among the games on offer, but my delusional side2 is screaming yes, yes it was there and foreshadowed a life of servitude to gaming in all its myriad forms.

Still it’s kinda cool to find a curio like this wandering the wilds of the Internet, long before Nintendo made the name commonplace, and by SEGA, no less.

h/t: GDRI


1 Some would say this is still a problem even today, but they are filthy, much taller, liars!
2 Which oddly accounts for about 98% so it’s really more like my delusional self.

Categories: Video Games Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

